A little bit of history

This heart of Liège where the Saint-Lambert Galleries are set up has been a hub dedicated to business for decades. Thus, the Vaxelaire family established its first Liège store there in the 19th century, quickly followed by the legendary Grand Bazaar, then Bon Marché and Innovation.

These businesses quickly made this place the most important commercial hub of the hypermarket centre.

Those old enough among us undoubtedly still remember the beauty and the magic of decorations which illuminated, during the year-end festivals in particular, the remarkable facades (from an architectural point of view) of these shops.

The history of the place is also closely related to the history of the "Fiery City" and its legendary Saint-Lambert square.

The concept of ?modernism? which prevailed during the early Seventies wanted to have the car enter the city. The square was prepared to receive a motorway connection, a bus station, an underground and many carparks. The projects followed one another, an open hole remained open and archaeological excavations, moreover, were undertaken in the heart of the square.

The centre was deserted, the shops closed one after another, starting with the legendary Grand Bazaar.

It would take decades for this commercial centre to recover. A smooth recovery was achieved first of all by the construction of the Saint-Michel Island (currently Saint Michel Space) then, in early 2000, by the Saint-Lambert Galleries project.

After a few hitches and delays, particularly related to the classification of the facade and the necessary compulsory purchases, the commercial complex connecting two districts by means of its glass passage finally opened its doors in 2004.

The Saint-Lambert Galleries was born. They extend over a surface area of 43,484 sg metres of which 41,114 m2 is commercial surface area.

The desire is to remake the place as the true commercial lung of the hypermarket centre at a time when there is an overall movement in Europe which wants to revive business in the shopping centres on the outskirts.

Today, the Saint-Lambert Galleries represent more than 40 businesses in the heart of Liège.

Even more than a shopping centre? a true concourse


Over time, the Saint-Lambert Galleries became a true public space, a friendly concourse, surrounded by shops. It's a place for meeting, rambling, chatting, attending frequent promotions, and regular meetings. In short, not only a place to do some shopping.

It has to be said that the philosophy of the place goes well beyond the simple shopping destination.

The Galleries really fit into the heart of Liège and mirror the rhythm of great events which energise the place.

Remember, in May 2013, this largest gathering of super-heroes in the world or even
the work carried out in post-its on the glazed part of the Galleries during the passage of the Tour de France. A record of 19,000 post-its which were made official by Guiness World Records.
Your shopping in the heart of Liège

During their 10th anniversary, the Saint-Lambert Galleries chose a slogan which aptly characterises them:

With 40 shops, catering establishments and large international brand names, the Saint-Lambert Galleries recorded a footfall of approximately 6.5 million visitors a year.

A real success which the Galleries celebrated with you and lasting the entire month of September 2014!

Un petit bout d'histoire

Ce cœur de Liège où sont installées les Galeries Saint-Lambert est un haut-lieu dédié au commerce depuis des décennies. C’est ainsi que, dès le 19e siècle, la famille Vaxelaire y implanta son premier magasin liégeois rapidement suivi du légendaire Grand Bazar, puis du Bon Marché et de l’Innovation.

Ces commerces ont rapidement fait de l'endroit le pôle commercial le plus important de l'hyper-centre.

Les plus anciens d’entre nous se souviennent sans doute encore de la beauté et de la magie des décorations qui illuminaient, lors des fêtes de fin d’année notamment, les façades remarquables d'un point de vue architectural de ces magasins.

Le passé de l’endroit est aussi intimement lié à l’histoire de la Cité ardente et de son emblématique place Saint-Lambert.

Le concept de « modernisme » qui prévaut début des années 70 veut faire entrer la voiture en ville. On prépare la place à recevoir une liaison autoroutière, une gare des bus, un métro et de nombreux parkings. Les projets se succèdent, un trou béant reste ouvert et des fouilles archéologiques sont, de plus, entreprises au coeur de la place.

Le centre est déserté, les magasins ferment l'un après l'autre, à commencer par le mythique Grand Bazar.

Il faudra une dizaine d'années pour que cet ensemble commercial commence progressivement à reprendre vie.Une reprise en douceur qui se concrétise tout d'abord par la construction de l'Ilot Saint-Michel (actuel Espace sain Michel) puis, début 2000, par le projet Galeries Saint-Lambert.

Après quelques péripéties et retards notamment liés au classement de la façade et aux expropriations nécessaires, le complexe commercial reliant deux quartiers grâce à son passage vitré ouvre enfin ses portes en 2004.

Les Galeries Saint-Lambert sont nées. Elles s'étendent sur une superficie de 43.484 m2 dont 41.114 m2 de superficie commerciale.

La volonté est de refaire de l'endroit le véritable poumon commercial de l'hyper-centre à un moment où un mouvement global en Europe veut ramener le commerce dans les centres commerciaux construits en périphérie.

Aujourd'hui, les Galeries Saint-Lambert représentent plus de 40 commerces au cœur de Liège.

Bien plus qu'un centre commercial...une véritable agora


Au fil du temps, les Galeries Saint-Lambert sont devenues une vraie place publique, une agora conviviale, entourée de magasins. On s'y donne rendez-vous, on y flâne, on y discute, on y assiste à de fréquentes animations, à des rendez-vous réguliers. Bref, on n'y vient pas seulement faire ses courses. On y vit aussi !

Il faut dire que la philosophie des lieux va au-delà de la simple destination shopping.

Les Galeries s'inscrivent vraiment dans le coeur de Liège et y vivent au rythme des grands événements qui animent la place.

Rappelez-vous, en mai 2013, ce plus grand rassemblement de super-héros au monde ou encore
l'oeuvre réalisée en post-it sur la partie vitrée des Galeries lors du passage du tour de France. Un record de 19.000 post-it qui ont été officialisés par le Guiness World Records.
Votre shopping au coeur de Liège

A l'occasion de leurs 10 ans, les Galeries Saint-Lambert ont choisi un slogan qui les caractérise bien : « Votre shopping au coeur de Liège ».

Avec 40 boutiques, établissements horeca et grandes enseignes internationales, les Galeries Saint-Lambert ont enregistré une fréquentation d’environ 6,5 millions de visiteurs par an. Un rapide calcul et on constate que ce sont près de 50 millions de visiteurs qui ont foulé leur sol en une décennie !

Un véritable succès que les Galeries ont fêté avec vous durant tout ce mois de septembre 2014 !